Free Standard Shipping & Returns

Jackie Crawford

Event in which you compete: Breakaway, Calf Roping, Heading, Heeling

Hometown: Abilene, TX, USA

Number of years riding: 27 Years

Career accomplishments to date: 

  • • Oklahoma High School State Champion Breakaway
  • • Three-Time NIRA Southwest Region Champion Breakaway Roper
  • • NIRA National Champion Breakaway Roper
  • • Two-Time WPRA World Champion Calf Roper
  • • Joe’s Boot Shop Breakaway Champ
  • • Windy Ryon Champion Heeler


How you got started in your event: At age 12 I moved to Oklahoma where I began to participate in the junior rodeos, but only in barrels, poles, and goat tying. When I saw all of the kids who roped, I knew that it was a sport for me! I took to it and never looked back!

Favorite Ariat product: I know it is weird, but besides all of the great boots, I cannot leave the house without my Ariat cami’s. They are the best cami’s anywhere!

Proudest career moment: I don’t think that my proudest career moment had anything to do with winning something. It was probably the first time that a top PRCA calf roper asked me my opinion on something to do with his horse and his roping. It was a cool feeling to know that you had gained respect from the top men in the business.

Tell us about your first horse: I don’t remember my very first horse, but I remember my first really important one. His name was Joe. He was a big sorrel gelding that some people were having trouble with. I just remember them whipping him repetitively and I asked if I could ride him. They finally let me and we clicked. He came right down to my level and nobody could really believe it. He also liked licorice and diet Coke!

You ride because: It is what I was raised doing. It is my passion. Some people were raised playing golf, some were raised cooking; I was raised riding horses. I am a very big animal lover and I love spending time with them.

If you weren’t a professional rider, you would be a: My dream is still to be a rancher. But if I wasn’t in the horse world at all I would be doing something with animals. If I ever get rich, I would love to open an animal shelter.

Favorite mentor or idol growing up: My mom. She worked extremely hard to get me the things that I needed to be good at whatever I did.

Favorite place to travel: We did a school in Hawaii and it was amazing! I would love to go there all the time.

Name one fun fact that people don’t know about you: Even though my Ariat ad makes me look kind of like a tough calf-roper, I am really soft hearted. I will try to save anything. If I have any calves that I get attached to, or I that think are too cute, then I don’t even rope them – or let anyone else.

Favorite way to unwind outside the barn: There is a lot of cooking out with friends at the ranch. I like to just get done in the evenings and kick back for a bit.

Good luck charm: Don’t really have one. One of my favorite sayings is “Luck is when preparation and opportunity meet.”